Why does NFL.com hate giving the San Francisco 49ers points? (and specifically Joe Nedney)

So I was looking at some older games on NFL.com and found something interesting about their box scores: they shave points off Example.  I tried to find some pattern (in 5 minutes) as to why this was happening.  There didn’t seem to be one that I could tell (some games were ones that only had field goals and were OK, others with touchdowns were OK and others were not).

I imagine it’s some missing link in the NFL database about a player or just the 49ers.  I sent them an email with the game ids so they could fix it.  Overall, though I was really surprised.  Isn’t sports stats supposed to be the pinnacle of clean data?  Don’t you have people pour over this stuff day in and day out to make lines/create schedules/reporting/etc?  I know NFL isn’t doing that directly (except for making schedules and reporting), but I was still surprised.

So no – NFL doesn’t hate SF or the 9ers (that I can tell), but I am even more firm in my adage of ‘what do you mean your data is “clean”‘?

 

One thought on “Why does NFL.com hate giving the San Francisco 49ers points? (and specifically Joe Nedney)

  1. Pingback: The 35-Yard Line Kickoff: More Touchbacks, Longer Returns | A HopStat and Jump Away

Leave a Reply

